Metal Mesh Earthen Tomb

P1100397

©2nd of the Achaeans     mixed media/pastel paper     12″ x 9″

The following and the above are some recent works (drawings/sketches) on paper and other media.

After a yearlong pause from writing, a verbal oxidation tried to take hold and arrange itself around the edges and the creases of my mind. After scraping this off, I encountered a poem.

°

P1100393

©Based on Sebastiano del Piombo drawing (c.1520)     graphite/paper     11″ x 8.5″

°

The following is the poem as a short story from a recent dream, which is somehow related I believe to a course I’m currently taking titled The Ancient Greek Hero in 24 hrs from edX online.

Do check it out if interested in Ancient Greek culture as it is definitely worthwhile.

°

P1100409

©Nina frontal sketch      charcoal/toned card stock      11″ x 8.5″

°

Metal Mesh Earthen Tomb

°

I travel alone through some dusk moisten ground,

wandering past dark earthen shroud,

my eyes not troubled from mist or cloud,

a dextral encounter with a terrestrial mound.

°

I carry for dinner an upended fowl,

unbeknownst its hue, its weight, nor fount,

I recall no whispers nor deafening sounds,

I turn to behold such terrestrial mound.

°

Quite unnerving, amusing deception, I thus initially found,

as it just touched the pile, disappear did the fowl.

°

I search in vain for the vanished,

my disbelief torrential reigning and mounts,

to decipher, unearth present quandary,

to retrieve and reclaim from the mound.

°

(Through some trickery of my own), I attempt to regain,

what I never have loaned, and my posture maintain.

Tapping lightly damp earth, myriad bearings I’ve chosen,

conviction shall work, ritual spell to be broken.

°

I find myself covered, magic sand surround pile,

slow brush vex my skin, subterranean bush file,

metal mesh earthen tomb, scraping dirt to be found,

how am I below now, such uncomfortable mound?

°

I am lodged by mistake soft ripe underground,

The fowl dinner nowhere, as I continue to scrape.

I then see a tunnel and perceive my escape,

my plan a calm getaway such mysterious mound.

°

P1100405

©Quill and ink line sketch       India ink/card stock paper      11″ x 8.5″

°

P1100401

©Nina profile sketch   charcoal/toned card stock     11″ x 8.5″

Leave a Reply

