Fathomless Fountain Phase

DSC_0002 2

©Alexander Rosado-Muñoz U Turn 16.5″ x 13.5″ charcoal, pastel / archival paper

DSC_0016

©Alexander Rosado-Muñoz Looking Back 13.5″ x 16.5″ charcoal / archival paper

DSC_0006

©Alexander Rosado-Muñoz No Worry, No Despair 16.5″ x 13.5″ charcoal / archival paper

A few of my drawings from a while back that seem to go well with the poem.

The following verse tale is dedicated to my brother Lewis, who’s story inspired me to write the poem. It is somewhat based on an actual event that occurred to him recently on a business trip coupled with some of my personal insights. Enjoy!

Fathomless Fountain Phase

Mt Rainier, reign awesome solemn sight,

beau view cushion seats, clouds to my right,

heading east, slow flow salty on my cheeks,

mystery spring sorrow, lone sprout leaks.

A voyage to conjure some rusty grain story,

a simple search in source memory,  (such mountainous maze),

nothing to recall, fathomless fountain phase,

glances beside me, watch my intoxicate daze…

…Sprinting to the gate or miss my next flight,

bag’s on my back, feeling fit and just right,

against time, once again, racing to arrive,

stopped by a stranger, “…your things are on a ‘dive’, (sir).”

Look back and encounter others with my stuff,

grateful of these strangers, my run turned bluff,

eyeglasses, books and towels, took to the air,

missed the goddamn flight, alas, but saved… from despair.

DSC_0007

Cleaning up a bit around the edges on the drawing “Looking Back”

Leave a Reply

