Wednesday Evening at Casa Andalucía

DSC_0003

©Alexander Rosado-Muñoz Wednesday Evening at Casa Andalucía 48″ x 60″ acrylic / canvas

 

The painting “Wednesday Evening at Casa Andalucía” began conceptualization around the year 2001 as I immersed myself in a self imposed drawing and observation study of professional flamenco dancers and students training at the beautiful Casa Andalucía in the city of Guaynabo.

The practices took place Wednesday evenings under the direction of the famed maestro Antonio Santaella and had an entrancing sort of effect on me that allowed me to travel approximately four hours round trip from Aguadilla and back every Wednesday for various months, without even the slightest complaint.

The impact of being absorbed in the fascination of live flamenco guitar rhythms, singing, and dancing was spectacular and immensely fertile – producing many sketches where I made attempts to capture the energy, flow, rhythm, nostalgia, and ancestral connection, that reverberated through my blood and still does. Although the actual painting was initiated in the year 2003, I was not satisfied with the result and left it alone for a few years, then in 2006 I worked on it some more, was not satisfied, and left it alone again (in storage) for another seven years till being completed in 2013.

As any fine wine connoisseur will attest, aging for the right amount of years makes all the difference. I currently believe the work has reached a level of maturation to appropriately convey some of the feelings and aspects inherent in me as I became cocooned in a sensorial and extra-sensorial extravaganza.

Leave a Reply

